Economics Essay Competition 2012 Uk


RES Young Economist of the Year Essay Competition 2016 - winners announced

  • Published Date: 08 August 2016

From the final shortlist of 19 essays drawn from a total entry of nearly 1700, the judging panel of Professor Sir Charles Bean (London School of Economics and an RES Past President), Stephanie Flanders (Ex BBC Economics Editor, now with JP Morgan) and Professor Jonathan Haskel (Imperial College, London) have selected three winners and wish to congratulate them, together with all of the other students that made the short list.

The 2016 RES Young Economist of the Year is therefore Sherwood Lam of The King's School, Canterbury, who will receive the glass trophy and a prize of £1,000. Joint second place goes to George Keech of Bedford Modern School and Chung Yi See of Raffles Institution, Singapore, each of whom will receive £500. The awards will be made at a ceremony before the RES Public Lecture on 29th November.

Thank you to all students and schools who have taken part this year. Due to the large number of entries we regret that no feedback can be provided for individual essays. The highly commended list and final shortlist are listed on the Young Economist essay competition webpage.

Read the winning essays and the Judges Report here.

Source: RES Office, Amanda Wilman


Journal Prizes

There are four types of prize awarded each year in connection with The Economic Journal and The Econometrics Journal:

RES Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in the Economic Journal in a given year as selected by the RES President, a representative of the Economic Journal Editorial Board and one invited judge from the RES Council.

Austin Robinson Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in the Economic Journal in a given year by an author (or multiple authors) who is within 5 years of receiving his or her (or their) PhD as selected by the Editors of the Economic Journal.

Economic Journal Referee Prizes

Up to 14 prizes awarded each year for referees judged by the Editors to have made an outstanding contribution in this capacity.

The Dennis Sargan Econometrics Prize

Awarded for the best (unsolicited) article published in The Econometrics Journal in a given year by anyone who is within five years of being awarded their doctorate.

The Young Economist Essay competition
Up to £3000 of prize money is awarded annually to the winners of this essay competition on topical issues in economics. Entry is limited to those studying A levels or the International Baccalaureate educational programmes.

The RES is sometimes made aware of prizes and competitions offered by other organisations which may be of interest to our members. Contact the RES Administrator ( if you wish to publicise a prize to our members.  

See below for details of current prizes being offered:


Applications are invited for Houblon-Norman/George Research Fellowships tenable at the Bank of England during the academic year 2017/2018. Appointments will be for full-time research on an economic or financial topic of the candidate’s choice, preferably one that could be studied with particular advantage at the Bank of England. The length of any appointment will be by agreement with successful applicants, but will not normally be less than one month, nor longer than one year.

Senior Fellowships will be awarded to distinguished research workers who have established a reputation in their field.
Fellowships will also be available for younger post-doctoral or equivalent applicants, and for these, preference will be shown to British and other EU Nationals. The award will normally be related to academic salary scales.

Application forms (to be returned no later than 30 October 2016) and details are available from: or by emailing the Houblon-Norman/George Fund account, postal applications should be addressed to the Secretary to the Houblon-Norman/George Fund, Bank of England, Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AH.

Mark Blaug Student Essay Prize

In honour of the great economist Mark Blaug (1927- 2011), from 2014 the Foundation for European Economic Development (FEED) is financing and awarding an annual student essay prize. Essay submission deadline is 1 October 2016. The awards will be made in late 2016 or early 2017. Read more...
Details of the Mark Blaug 2016 Prize Competition  here (separate pdf).

FEED website:

Duke University and the North Carolina (USA) Justice Center are supporting Smart Economics for the Environment and human Development (SEED).

SEED is a multi-disciplinary effort, involving community members from business, politics, and NGO’s formulating smarter goals for economic activity and laying the groundwork for the design of economic indicators that promote sustainable and equitable development.

Call for Submissions:

SEED has asked the RES to publicise to our members, their call for "submissions of artistic renderings of what may well be the central dilemma of our time – the economic imperative to grow; the survival imperative to stop growing."
A committee consisting of scholars, students, political practitioners, and documentarians will award a $4,000 award for the first prize, and $1,000 for the second prize. There will also be an award for a $1,000 Reader’s Choice Award. All the winners will be invited to a public award ceremony at Duke University. The first prize winner will also be featured at an event at the Duke Center for Documentary Studies.

DEADLINE: Submissions to are due at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 2, 2016. Submissions are open to everyone.


Applicants interested in further background information, please visit, or, at any point, contact Dirk Philipsen at for reading materials, data, and general research on the broader question of causes and consequences of economic growth. Full details at:


Wiley Prize in Economics

The Wiley Prize in Economics, worth £5,000, is awarded annually for achievement in research by an outstanding early career economist. The award is sponsored by publisher Wiley. The Prize was first awarded in 2013.

Eligible nominations can be for research in any field of economics or economic history, provided that the nominee is a UK national or resident, and received their doctorate after 1 January 2010. Nominations may only be made by Heads of Departments of Economics (or equivalent) in UK HE institutions, or by relevant learned societies. Only one nomination per nominating department/society is permitted.

Further information on the Wiley Prize in Economics.


The Rybzcynski Prize for Business Economics

The Society of Business Economists has, since 2000, awarded an annual prize for the year's best piece of writing on an issue of importance to business economists. The Rybczynski Prize is awarded in memory of Tad Rybczynski, an eminent economist and long-serving former Chairman of the Society.

Essays can be written especially for the competition, or may be work published in the twelve months prior. The judges will be looking for around 3000 – but not more than 4000 – well-written and thought-provoking words. Previous winners have been Roger Bootle, Simon Briscoe, Joanne Collins, Fergus Hicks, Thomas Mayer, Pam Woodall, Kevin Daly, Ian Bright, George Buckley and Tim Harford at The Financial Times. To have the chance of adding your own name to this list, please contact the SBE secretariat at  More details on the Rybzcynski Prize are available at the SBE website.

0 thoughts on “Economics Essay Competition 2012 Uk”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *